winter break laziness and Kate’s Happy Tea

I have an interminably long winter break-we get out in mid-December and don’t go back til the last week of January- and for a type-A person like me, six weeks of limbo is pretty much misery. So I’ve been trying to keep myself amused with knitting and lots of cooking, but I haven’t felt the mojo to chain myself to my laptop.

This is all my roundabout way of saying that I’m excited about this new blog, and it’s a work in progress. I hope you keep watching as I tinker with it and add bells and whistles.

In the meantime, I present you with my prescription-free remedies for the wintertime blues. Am I getting the placebo effect? I don’t know and honestly, if I feel better, I don’t give a shit.

First, take Vitamin D and calcium. Look for a multivitamin that’ll give you 250 percent of your daily recommended requirement for vitamin D–some docs say the recommended amount isn’t very much, and it’s pretty tough to overdose on D anyway.

And then, mix up some happy tea. Note: I’m not a doctor and you can fuck up your shit trying to medicate yourself with herbs, but making a really low-dose tea is pretty safe (and cheap.) I get my herbs and spices in bulk at Butterfly Herbs, but you can probably find these at any tea shop or hippie grocery store. Chamomile is soothing and tasty, St. John’s Wort is supposed to help with depression, raspberry leaf is recommended for all kinds of womanly troubles (and is tasty), and rosehips are high in Vitamin C.

Kate’s Happy Tea

1 ounce chamomile

1 ounce St. John’s Wort

1 ounce raspberry leaf

1 ounce rosehips

Combine in a jar, mash up with a fork to mix herbs. Use about 1 tablespoon of your tea mix per 8 ounce cup of water.

Leave a Reply

