Chard Scramble and Mashed Purple Potatoes with Celeriac

no mere chard scramble with potatoes is this.

One of my favorite things about my local grocery, the Good Food Store, is how the floral and produce section is right as you walk in the door. The Good Food store is set up like a giant illustration of Michael Pollan’s mantra “eat food, not too much, mostly plants.” You go through the produce section, which is big, and then the ‘basic staples in bulk’ section, then dairy, then meat, then baked goods. Packaged foods are a small section in the middle of the store and desserts are a wee section by the deli.

So for me, it works out that whenever I go grocery shopping, I get all excited and pick out a bunch of vegetables and by the time I get to the dessert section I’ve used up my budget. I don’t know if they planned it like that, but it’s keeping me from buying as many cupcakes as I would if it was set up the opposite way.

So this is the excellent dinner I fixed myself after today’s grocery visit. It’s basically just scrambled eggs and chard with mashed potatoes. I spruced it up with all the other tasty stuff I got.

Mashed Purple and Red Potatoes and Celeriac

1 purple potato

1 red potato

1/2 celery root

Peel your celery root, but not your potatoes–the pretty colors are half the point. Dice up your potatoes and celery root and put ’em in a pot. Add just enough water to cover. Stir in some chicken bullion or miso paste (that might seem weird, but I have a shit ton of it that I need to use, and it’s just as tasty.) Chuck in a few of your favorite spices, like black pepper, basil and rosemary. Boil until tender and mash it with a fork. Stir in a tablespoon or two of butter. Ta-da! This is a lot more flavorful and colorful than regular old mashed potatoes, I’d say.

Red Chard and Egg Scramble

3 to 4 stalks red chard

2 eggs

1/2 onion

Splash of white wine

Chop up the onion and the stalks of chard–they’re also edible, and have a sweet and mild flavor–and stir around in some olive oil in your pan on medium-high heat until tender. Crack in a couple eggs and stir about some more. Tear up your chard leaves, put on top, and pour a splash of wine in. Cover and turn the heat to medium-low until eggs are set and chard is wilted. I like to top this with a wee bit of sriracha, because sriracha and eggs are a match made in heaven.

Leave a Reply

