Black Beluga and Red Lentil Stew with Tomatoes and Peppers

black and red lentil stew

Oh man, I just accidentally cooked something VEGAN. I think they’ll revoke my Montana residency now.

Kidding.

(Sorta. Have you ever lived here?)

Anyway, the end of school is rapidly approaching! I am already way stressed out with school projects, so I’ve been eating way too much junk lately. I’m not gonna lie: eating a giant bowl of popcorn seems way more appealing than cooking a vegetable when I’m freaking out.

But living off popcorn and chocolate isn’t, er, super good for you it turns out. So today I made something nice and vegetable-y. Tip: Whenever I make a stew or chili that needs to simmer a while, I add tomatoes very last so I don’t burn them or cook out all the flavor.

Spicy Black Beluga and Red Lentil Stew

1/2 onion, diced

1 jalapeno, diced and seeded

1 poblano chili, diced (it’s the big dark green kind that’s a little spicier than plain green peppers)

1 can crushed tomatoes

Soup stock of your choice (I used miso paste, but any powder or bullion you have would work)

3 cups water

1/3 cup black lentils

1/3 cup red lentils

Dash each of garam masala, curry powder, cumin

In a soup pot, fry up your onions in hot oil for a few minutes. Pour in water and bring to a boil, and chuck in your spices, lentils and peppers. Cover and simmer for 20 to 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. When lentils are tender, stir in your tomatoes and add some salt and pepper as needed. This would be tasty topped with some sour cream and served with some sort of pita bread.

Leave a Reply

