Homemade Snickers Bars

Homemade Snickers. I didn't even bother with the top layer.

(Here’s my print column that appeared in the paper today. But with a pretty photo!)

Yes, kids, this is it: the last ever Montana Kaimin edition of “Poor, drunk and hungry.” I’m still blogging at poordrunkandhungry.com (Bookmark it! Send a link to your mom!), but you’ll see my gleeful mug in this paper no more, because, bitches, I am OUT of here. (Assuming I pass botany.) I’ll miss a lot about college. But, man, I am stoked to not deal with CyberBear or MontPIRG petitioners ever again.

I’ll definitely be poor and hungry for a while, since I’m getting a print journalism degree, which doesn’t seem to be worth the paper we no longer do journalism on anymore. Support my industry! Buy a newspaper! They’re useful for crossword puzzles and packing material.

And while I encourage you all to eat healthy, I’m leaving you with this downright lethal recipe for homemade Snickers bars. They’re incredibly simple: All you do is melt/cook a layer, let it cool, then add another one. These are amazing.

Thanks to everybody for a good year, especially the culinary students who email me to tell me I make soup the wrong way and people who come up in bars and say, “Hey, don’t you do that column?”

Homemade Snickers Bars

First Layer:

  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons butterscotch chips
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter

Melt together in a microwave, stirring often. Spread to a 1/4-inch thickness in a greased 8-inch square pan. Refrigerate.

Filling:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2/3 cup marshmallow creme (like Jet Puffed)
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup salted peanuts, chopped

Melt butter in a saucepan, add sugar and milk and bring to a boil. Stir for 5 minutes until thickened. Remove from heat and stir in marshmallow creme, peanut butter and peanuts. Spread over first layer, let cool.

Caramel layer:

  • 1/2 bag of caramels (about 1/2 pound)
  • 2 tablespoons whipping cream
  • Melt in microwave, stirring until smooth. Pour over the filling.

Top layer:

Repeat as for bottom layer. When cool, slice up into bars. Try not to eat the whole pan.

Leave a Reply

