Tonight’s Drinking: New Belgium Le Terroir Sour Ale

Not my photo: I forgot to take my camera to the bar. Flickr

Consider my mind blown.

When my friend told me she’d had a sour beer from New Belgium that was super tasty, I had to try it. Sour beer?! Wah? So I shortly headed to the Rhino, our beloved local beer bar, to try a sample, not expecting to like it.

The bartender handed me the glass of Le Terroir sour ale and warned me that it was an acquired taste. I sipped, and….whoa. Interesting. Kind of like drinking alcoholic pickle juice, but in the best possible way. While I normally like my beers on the darker, sweeter side, this was an interesting alternative: very acidic and tart. A kick in the mouth pants. Not something I could pound, but still quite tasty, and packs a strong 7.5 percent.

If you like tangy, tart flavors and beer, I recommend checking this sour ale out while it’s still $2.50 a pint at the Rhino.

Kate’s Beer Rating: 7/10

One thought on “Tonight’s Drinking: New Belgium Le Terroir Sour Ale

  1. Pingback: Tonight’s Drinkin: Sour Ales «

Leave a Reply

