Cous Cous with Chicken and Spinach

Cous Cous with chicken, spinach.

Now that I’m a freshly minted college graduate (read: unemployed drunk) I’m spending a leisurely week at my folks’ house until I go job searching.

Hot damn, this is the sweet life: the kitchen is an entire room. There’s clean dishes in the cupboard. We have more than one spatula. The fridge is stocked with tons of food and the pantry is overflowing!

So I can be a bit more creative with my cooking–I can whip up quick, tasty things for  lunch, and then I put together fancier things for when my family comes home for dinner.

So this is what I had for lunch. Man, cooking’s easy when somebody else does the shopping and there’s leftovers in the fridge.

Cous Cous with Chicken and Spinach

Cous Cous

1/2 package of spinach

1 chicken breast, cooked

1/2 onion, diced

4 or 5 mushrooms, diced

In a skillet, Fry up your onions and mushrooms in some oil until soft and aromatic. Meanwhile, heat up some water in a pot and make cous cous. I used a boxed kind because we had some in the pantry. If you don’t know how to make cous cous, I weep for you.*

Anyway, chop up your chicken breast (God bless my parents, they just have random cooked meat in the fridge. How crazy is that?) and toss it in the skillet, and follow up with the spinach. You can go a little crazy with the spinach: greens will always wilt down to nothing. Once your cous cous is tender, and your spinach is wilted, empty the skillet contents into the cous cous contents and stir it all together. I seasoned this with the Parmesan packet the boxed cous cous came with, and some pepper, hot sauce, and a splash of vinegar.

*But in case you needed a refresher, all’s you do is bring a cup of water to a boil, stir in a cup of cous cous, shut off the heat and cover it. Then, if you like, stir in the seasoning packet. Follow the directions on the label, for pete’s sake.

Leave a Reply

