3 Easy Things to do With Potatoes Right Now

I am a feeder. I am one who feeds others, not by conscious intention, just by doing. I like to cook when I’m not hungry and I offer food to people I like. The only thing that makes me feel more at-home and happy than cooking for other people is when my mom cooks for me.

So I tend to buy more groceries and cook more than I, by myself, can eat in a given time. I buy onions and potatoes and beans and spices in bulk, because you never know when a bunch of hungry people will show up, amirite?

Well, I currently don’t have hungry roommates, drunk friends or gentleman callers wandering in my place to entertain, so I find myself with extra food. Like a sack of red potatoes all sprouting into scary alien beings. So within about an hour, I dispatched about five pounds of potatoes thusly:

Wash potatoes and cut into cubes, however evenly you are capable of. I have lousy knife skills, so mine are all of funny shapes and sizes. Whatever. It’s only potatoes. Or TATERS, as hobbitses/people from eastern Montana would say. Bring a pot of water to a boil and cook your potatoes, in however many batches it takes. When the potatoes are easily pierced with a fork, you can do any of the following:

1. Drain potatoes, put in a bowl and allow to cool. Stir in mayonnaise, mustard, chopped pickles and hard-boiled eggs to taste. Voila, you have potato salad.

2. Drain potatoes, then fry in hot oil in a skillet with some peppers and onions. Voila, the best breakfast ever.

3. Drain potatoes, pour in some soup stock, and mash in butter and cream. Voila, mashed taters.

There you go. No more wasting potatoes! Also, please stop by my house if you happen to be in Kitsap County, because my freezer is full of mashed potatoes and my fridge is full of beer I’d like to share.

One thought on “3 Easy Things to do With Potatoes Right Now

Leave a Reply

